• HUNGRY Feast
  • Posts
  • Why You Absolutely Need a Toolkit For Grit (... 3 easy ways how)

Why You Absolutely Need a Toolkit For Grit (... 3 easy ways how)

The assassins wore red demonic clown masks covering their scared and maniacally-crazed pale faces. Quickly, they scurried across the wet morning grass. A gentle tickle of Japanese rain hit the grey rocks was smothered by their hard back suffocating footsteps.

Kyoto, Japan, 2023.

The meditation retreat was a sanctuary of relaxation. High white, roomy ceilings punctuated with blonde and dark chocolate mahogany. But, soon, the furniture was turned upside down. Flecked with blood. Ramen pots sploshed on the floor.

They entered from the meditation retreat from the rear (easyyyyyyy, boi).

The assassins stormed the building and tied everyone hostage and barking orders and screaming and shouting and snouting and acting all pwopa ‘ard n that.

Things were about to get fruity. Tooty fruity.

Thankfully.

In came a proper, well-’ard SAS soldier called Tony-Terrorinator.

Tony Terror is a brick-shit-house-scary-from Salford. Boxer. Boozer. Neck looks like a stack of sad council estate blocks. Thinning grey-timidly-died hair. Gloopy gravy Manc accent. Biceps like furious bowling balls. Blue icy eyes, cold with hot pain. Tattoos claw around his body like Ivy. Everywhere.

Tony saved the day.

Tony pulled out his Toolkit for Grit and kept the assassins at bay.

Daammmnnnn- - Danielllll - he even got out his Dyson hoover. Put on his Rubber gloves. Cleaned up the gaff. Plumped up the pillows. Even put little chocolates on them, too.

You’re probably thinking.

Fuckkkaaa me boiiii-sheeeee- you been slurping up tha ramen boiiii-shee?

You been jeffing over Andy McNab? SAS Who Dares Who Wins -

nah
nah
nah

Not like that.

But this little story describes my mind of late.

For 3 months. No drinking. My mind became clear and serene like a Japanese meditation retreat.

Then.

Just when you think you can put your feet up. Relllaxxxxxx like rolling waves and soft sand through your feet it all goes Pete-Tong.

Received a barrage of fucking jarring-annoying news. Jarred-Head. Saving-Private Ryan.

I received some fucking annoying news. Assassins entered building.
Then I drunk. Assassins took me hostage.
Then I smoked. Assassins tied me up.
The Hungry ghosts of my mind roved my mind. Assassins terrorised.

Then, I relied on my toolkit for grit aka Tony Terrorinator SAS Soilder

It made think. All founders need a Tool Kit for Grit - (and a Swiss Army Knife for #milld #office #banter hahahahahah )

Because just when you think everything is going right, it goes wrong. Always.

What’s the Tool Kit for Grit.

A selection of quotes, videos and other musings that I refer back to when things get hard.

But, first, I usually run around the garden in a circle for 45 minutes to let off some steam and energy.

1. “Your Hope Needs Grit” - David Hieatt.

Love this by David Hieatt when he came on the podcast. Simple but effective. When things are hard, cling on to hope.

2. “Don’t Turn Imagination into Worry” - David Hieatt.

Most founders are creative. Creativity when used negatively is anxiety and overthinking. Overthinking and anxiety when used positively is creativity.

My imagination is HUGE, but the cost (God, I sound like Steve Fartlett) is endless worrying.

Ohhh… !and whilst you’re on our NEW Youtube channel - fondle that subscribe button nice and gently #HonkIfYou’reHungry

3. Good - Jocko Willink

This is very cringe. Very U.S.A. Very Super Army Soldier.

Joe Rogan refers to it often. So that means I refer to it often too

Weirdly enough. Jocko’s advice didn’t work when I shat my pants after a Wasabi Katsu Curry on the 17.07pm South Western Train from Waterloo to Basingstoke?!?!

People looked at me.
Starred.

They starred hard.

I smiled and slowly said: "Gooooooood”.

Followed by a wink: “See It, Say it, Sorted ;)”

4. “Entrepreneurship is the feeling everything is falling apart and coming together at the same time” - Luke Boase and Emma Heal, Lucky Saint

I should get this tattooed on my forehead. I refer to so bloody often.

Also, this is hands down the BEST activation I’ve probably ever seen. My great friend and utter legend Oli Badman moving silly !!!

Would love to know from you… what do you say to yourself when things get really hard?

fancy a free consultancy sesh from big fish?

Our wonderful sponsor big fish are responsible for the BIGGEST brands in the game. Charlie Bighams. GU. Tyrell’s. The Coconut Collaborative. Roda’s. RANA. Yeo Valley.

big fish has worked with pretty much EVERY single brand in your cupboard.

The TOTALLY-bloody amazing news?

We are offering one free consultancy session to one lucky brand… If you’re a Force for Good. Truly disruptive. Taste amazing.

Please feel free to reply to this email, we’d absolutely love to hear from you!

Still Hungry? Course you are…

Please feel free to gorge on the most downloaded podcast episodes of all time (these are CERTY: BANGERS)

Or read our most read articles of all time